Magnum Opus

The final project for this class turned out to be a great way for me to showcase some of my photographs. I took up photography as a hobby over the summer and purchased a digital SLR camera. I’ve taken tons of photographs around DC but I have found that it is easier to go out and take lots of photographs than it is to then go through them to organize and touch them up. My original idea was to use the photos in a print design but using Final Cut Pro X to compile the photographs into a compilation video really worked well. The final product has a much bigger impact.

What surprised me the most was how a story developed that weaves the animation and effects, music, and the photographs themselves. I started by selecting which photographs I wanted to include in the video and then putting them on the timeline and key framing different movements and effects to match the music. Part way through I realized it made sense to have the night photos (my favorites) at the end of the video with a special effect that almost makes it seem like they are being drawn right before your eyes and have the daytime photos at the beginning. The daytime photographs help build up to the more profound photographs at the end. The most epic part of the music is right at the end where I put my favorite photograph, a double exposure of the Capitol dome with the statue Freedom silhouetted by a Full Moon.

Leave a Reply

